Bio

VAM is a politically and socially conscious artist who reflects on the female condition and engages in a personal and universal research project on the construction of identity and, more generally, women in the societies of today.

Moved by the works of Louise Bourgeois, Annette Messager and Nan Goldin as much as by the conditions and paradoxes of the women in her entourage, she explores these inconsistencies in an intimate mode, between violence, rebellion and sensuality.

Co-founder of the TRANSFIGURING fine art photography movement.

Winner of the 2014 Contemporary Art Competition in the Photography Category, Espace Christiane Peugeot, Paris 17.

Represented by the Artkhein gallery.

THE ARTISTIC APPROACH

VAM works on feminine identity, highlighting the distortions between liberation and archaism, contradictions between the apparent emancipation of women in our societies, and the weight of the stereotypes that keep them imprisoned.

VAM explores this discrepancy, carefully blending raw materials such as tin and wire gauze with more fragile fabrics, silk thread, photography, tissue.

She has recourse to a wide variety of techniques, especially photography, digital painting and, more recently, video; she repeatedly resorts to sewing/suturing and misappropriates the codes of decorativeness to create “prettily” subversive works. Embroidery, a typically feminine activity, is used here both to expose imprisonment, mutilation or wounds and express repair and resistance. VAM’s delicate and disturbing universe exposes the uncanny alchemy of a gender both worshipped and bullied, acclaimed and trashed.

Although she sometimes appears to rely on the consensual imagery of feminine charm perpetually imposed on us all, she does so only to manipulate it by including suggestive forms, breaks, openings or words with equivocal meanings.

A black-and-white aesthetic that incorporates areas of red with powerful and engaging symbolic significance. The colour of passion and prohibition, it is also the colour of blood, the blood of women, and the blood of revolution… In VAM’s work, wombs, genitals and laps are divested of their submissiveness and offer a free and collusive take on femininity..

INTERPRETATION OF PHILIPPE BARRIER, PHILOSOPHER

(…) It is obviously pointless to seek to gain an understanding of the mysteries of desire, be they masculine or feminine. It is always paradoxical, essentially with regard to the subject moving to the category of objects, where however it unfolds like an agent, for men or women (or both).

VAM suggests that we break free of the prison of clichés, yet it is inside that very prison that she struggles and frolics. She is funny, ironic, a tease (though not in the sense of a man-teaser), graceful, and occasionally serious.

In her work, femininity speaks, laughs, and weep. Because there is a war being waged as well, and violence – suggested. The same materials are sometimes quintessentially feminine, but redirected, in other terms activated. In this situation women take, women seize. The artist takes the visitor to these little magic boxes to look at paintings and playlets; through these clefts.

VAM sews and unzips in order to enable onlookers to get a glimpse of hidden words, primitive visions. VAM exaggerates submissiveness.

And in the ethereal and concrete subtlety of the metal voiles something resembling feminine liberty seems to appear.

Copyright © 2019 - VAM - All rights reserved.

Bio

Artiste française, VAM mène un travail engagé sur l’identité féminine. Un travail de recherche, à la fois personnel et universel, sur la construction de l’identité et, de façon plus générale, sur les femmes dans nos sociétés actuelles.

Ebranlée par les œuvres de Louise Bourgeois, Annette Messager ou Nan Goldin, autant que par les conditions et contradictions des femmes qui l’entourent, elle explore les différentes facettes de la féminité dans un parcours de l’intime, entre violence, révolte et sensualité.

Co-fondatrice du mouvement de photographie plasticienne TRANSFIGURING.

Lauréate 2014 du concours d’Art Contemporain, catégorie photographie, de l’Espace Christiane Peugeot, Paris 17.

Représentée par la galerie Artkhein

LA DÉMARCHE ARTISTIQUE

VAM travaille sur l’identité féminine et met l’accent sur les distorsions entre libération et archaïsme, les contradictions entre l’émancipation apparente de la femme dans nos sociétés, et le poids des stéréotypes dans lesquels elle reste enfermée.

VAM explore ce décalage, mêlant des matières brutes comme l’étain et la toile métallique avec des matériaux plus fragiles, fil de soie, photographie, étoffes.

Multipliant les supports et les techniques, notamment la photographie, la peinture numérique et plus récemment la vidéo, elle utilise de façon récurrente le principe de couture / suture et détourne les codes de l’ornementation au profit d’évocations « joliment » subversives. La broderie, activité typiquement féminine, est ici utilisée autant pour dénoncer l’enfermement, la mutilation ou les blessures, que pour traduire la réparation ou la résistance. Ainsi, VAM compose un univers tout aussi délicat que dérangeant pour révéler l’étrange alchimie d’un sexe à la fois vénéré et bafoué, honoré et humilié.

Si elle semble parfois emprunter aux images consensuelles du charme féminin qui nous sont perpétuellement imposées, c’est pour mieux en jouer, intégrant des formes suggestives,
des failles, des ouvertures ou des mots aux interprétations équivoques.

Une esthétique essentiellement en noir et blanc, ponctuée de rouge dont la puissance symbolique laisse rarement indifférent. Couleur de la passion et de l’interdit, c’est aussi la couleur du sang, le sang des femmes, le sang de la révolution… Dans les tableaux et sculptures de VAM, matrices, sexes et girons sortent de leur soumission et proposent un regard libre et complice
sur la féminité.

LE REGARD DE PHILIPPE BARRIER, PHILOSOPHE

(…) Il est évidemment vain de prétendre sonder les mystères du désir, qu’il soit masculin ou féminin. Il est toujours paradoxal, essentiellement en ce qu’il fait passer le sujet dans la catégorie d’objet, où il trouve cependant à se réaliser comme agent, qu’on soit homme ou femme (ou les deux).

C’est de la prison des clichés que VAM nous invite à nous échapper ; mais c’est d’abord dans celle-là qu’elle se débat, et qu’elle s’ébat. Avec humour, ironie, taquinerie (sans agaceries), et avec grâce, et parfois gravité.

C’est du féminin qui parle, qui rit et qui pleure. Car il y a la guerre aussi, et la violence – suggérée. Les matières mêmes sont parfois d’essence féminine, mais détournée, c’est-à-dire activée. Ici c’est la femme qui prend, qui saisit. C’est elle qui emmène voir, dans ces petites boîtes magiques, des tableaux, des saynètes ; dans ces fentes qui évoquent.

C’est elle qui coud et qui « dézippe », pour faire entrevoir des mots cachés, des visions primitives. Elle qui sur-joue la soumission.

Et dans la subtilité aérienne et concrète des voiles métalliques semble apparaître quelque chose comme une liberté féminine.

Copyright © 2018 - VAM - © All Rights Reserved